Skip to content

Supporting Women Owned Businesses

February 25, 2010

I was recently approached by a woman who owns Lushae, a jewelry business  www.jewelryartdesigns.com/jewelry-jad.asp?p=Earrings specializing in individually handcrafted jewelry, and she asked me to sample her product. She started her on-line business because she is passionate about what she does, but also so that she would have the flexibility to spend more time with her family. Her request got me thinking. I often think about how important it is for women to help other women. But, most of the time, I think of the topic in terms of mentoring, supporting your female colleagues, establishing personal relationships, and being an advocate for women. I often forget about the impact women can make on a broader level, by making an effort to support women owned businesses – even if they do not necessarily know the women. Think about the impact women would make if they were choosier about where they spent their money. With that in mind, I plan to be more conscious of who owns the businesses getting my dollars. I also would love to hear about any women owned businesses you love. By the way, I loved the earrings I got from Lushae!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

