Skip to content

Why Do You Love Being a Lawyer?

February 14, 2011

I was compelled to read this month’s ABA Journal article “Why I Love Being a Lawyer (Seriously).”  Our profession has definitely taken a hit by the economy, but this compilation of short stories and musings, written by attorneys from across the country, is an uplifting reminder of why we do what we do.

The article prompted me to think about why I enjoy my own career.  I realized that the reasons I love being an attorney have changed significantly since I first started practicing.  Yes, some things on my list I have loved since law school, but others I’ve only grown to appreciate through years of practice and change.      

I love being a problem solver for people who need help.  I love being able to write, travel, volunteer, and mentor.  I love making a difference through pro bono work.  I love strategizing and brainstorming with my clients.  I love being a small business owner.  I love the flexibility, control, and freedom that come with being my own boss.  I love being able to schedule vacations when I want to.  I love choosing which clients I want to work with.  I love the fantastic people I get to meet, and the diverse network of people I have grown to know.  I love the appreciation I receive from clients for a job well done. 

Why do you love being a lawyer?

Post by:  Stacy N. Lilly, Esq.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2013 9:29 pm

    Thank for your story it has encouraged me I love law and I am a 3L and I am getting nervous about joining the field and there are so many negative bogs out there. I don’t care about the money but do care about paying my school loans off. Thanks for your story.

  2. June 19, 2013 9:39 pm

    *blogs

Leave a Reply

